My First Quilt

20131003_105301

I was pushed past my comfort zone! Well maybe I was gently guided.

Two wonderful ladies from my church stopped by two weeks ago. They told me about their work with “Project Linus“. They knew that I liked to sew and asked me if I would help. I told them I had never made a quilt and didn’t know anything about quilting. They assuered me I wouldn’t have any trouble, everything I needed was all in the kits they made up, and all I needed to know was how to sew. LOL
Now I ask you, how could I say no? How hard could it be. It shouldn’t take a lot of time everything was all cut up for me and all I had to do was put it together. They left three kits and departed.
I opened the first kit. Yes, there were top pieces. Yes, there was backing material. Yes, there was even batting. But what wasn’t there were the instructions.

20131005_155741

Ok, now what.
It’s a good thing that I had been planning to learn to quilt because I have a few quilting books on my shelves.

wp-1381007567010

This book was so helpful.

20131005_161926

It has you work through lessons. After lesson one you have a mugrug of sorts. Ok, mine had some problems.

20131006_09005820131006_09011420131006_090128

I learned a lot working through this but I was still left with these kits unmade. So I decided to take it one step at a time.

I love comments so please let me know what you think.

