Crocheting Warm Socks for Cool Days

I am very blessed to be able to have my grandchildren here a few times each month. Two of them live in Houston which is about 30 miles from here. The other two live about 5 miles away. I love having them with me.

When they are here I don’t get much sewing time but I can do some simple crochet or knitting. I started these socks this past weekend..

20131010_121600

I don’t wear crocheted socks with my shoes. I find them too thick and uncomfortable. I do love them as slippers or what I call house socks. There is nothing better than warm socks on a cold day (not that we get many of those here). I have totally worn out my last pair and my youngest daughter is asking for new ones so I better get busy.

I learned to crochet socks using this book.

20131008_142317

I made the “Basic Sock in Sport Weight Yarn” on page 18. I have crocheted several pairs of these. I am using a size US G hook instead of the E called for in the pattern because I crochet tight and to make them slightly larger. (Tall women with big feet.)

I like the sport weight yarn better than worsted. I used “I Love this yarn” sold at Hobby Lobby. The colors are “Sweet Mocha” and “Brown”.

Halloween is coming way too soon so I better get to work on something special for the grands. Another post about my quilt will be coming soon.

I love comments so please let me know what you think.

